A Bloodsmoor Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates

A Bloodsmoor Romance

Ecco
Publication date: October 2013
ISBN: 9780062269201
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$10.99
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture

When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era—one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence.

Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
A Bloodsmoor Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1633 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Joyce Carol Oates
American Appetites ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
American Appetites
Joyce Carol Oates
Ecco, July 2014
ISBN: 9780062269232
Format: ePub
Our price: $10.99
Evil Eye ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
Evil Eye
Joyce Carol Oates
Head of Zeus, June 2014
ISBN: 9781781853610
Format: ePub
List Price: $11.65 Our price: $8.99
Rape: A Love Story ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
Rape: A Love Story
Joyce Carol Oates
Atlantic Books, June 2014
ISBN: 9781843544128
Format: ePub
List Price: $5.82 Our price: $4.99
High Crime Area: Tales of Darkness and Dread ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
High Crime Area: Tales of Darkness and Dread
Joyce Carol Oates
Mysterious Press, April 2014
ISBN: 9780802122650
Format: ePub
List Price: $23.00 Our price: $20.99
Recently Viewed Products