Dvorák: Cello Concerto PDF (Adobe DRM) download by Jan Smaczny

Dvorák: Cello Concerto

Cambridge University Press
Publication date: October 1995
ISBN: 9780511033285
Digital Book format: PDF (Adobe DRM)


List price:
Our price:

You save: $2.01 (6%)
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
Dvor·k's Cello Concerto, composed during his second stay in America, is one of the most popular works in the orchestral repertoire. This guide explores Dvor·k's reasons for composing a concerto for an instrument which he at one time considered unsuitable for solo work, its relationship to his American period compositions and how it forms something of a bridge with his operatic interests. A particular focus is the concerto's unique qualities: why it stands apart in terms of form, melodic character and texture from the rest of Dvor·k's orchestral music. The role of the dedicatee of the work, Hanus Wihan, in its creation is also considered, as are performing traditions as they have developed in the twentieth century. In addition the guide explores the extraordinary emotional background to the work which links it intimately to the woman who was probably Dvor·k's first love.
Please sign in to review this product.
Dvorák: Cello Concerto PDF (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open PDF (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1309 Kb
Copy From Text:
Enabled. Limit of 5 selections within 30 days.
Enabled. Limit of 20 pages within 30 days.
Other books by Jan Smaczny
Exploring Bach's B-minor Mass PDF (Adobe DRM) download by Robin A. Leaver
Exploring Bach's B-minor Mass
Robin A. Leaver & Jan Smaczny & Yo Tomita
Cambridge University Press, October 2013
ISBN: 9781107007901
Format: PDF
List Price: $79.00 Our price: $73.99
Recently Viewed Products