Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Melanie Warner

Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Scribner
Publication date: February 2013
ISBN: 9781451666755
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$13.99
Our price:
$11.66

You save: $2.33 (17%)
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore’s Dilemma a fascinating and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food. If a piece of individually wrapped cheese retains its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed our children? Former New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that takes her to research labs, food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening—and sometimes disturbing—account of what we’re really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally devastating food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis.From breakfast cereal to chicken subs to nutrition bars, processed foods account for roughly 70 percent of our nation’s calories. Despite the growing presence of farmers’ markets and organic produce, strange food additives are nearly impossible to avoid. Combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented—and lightly regulated—world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called “healthy” foods.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Pandora's Lunchbox: How Processed Food Took Over the American Meal ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
2857 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Enabled and unlimited.
Printing:
Enabled and unlimited.