Poisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Alice Shabecoff

Poisoned Profits: The Toxic Assault on Our Children

Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: August 2008
ISBN: 9781588367129
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$14.99
Our price:
$2.99

You save: $12.00 (80%)
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death. In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye-opening account of a country that prizes money over children's health.

With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice Shabecoff reveal that the children of baby boomers-the first to be raised in a truly "toxified" world–have higher rates of birth defects, asthma, cancer, autism, and other serious illnesses than previous generations. In piercing case histories, the authors identify the culprit as corporate pollution. Here are the stories of such places as Dickson, Tennessee, where babies were born with cleft lips and palates after landfill chemicals seeped into the water, and Port Neches, Texas, where so many graduates of a high school near synthetic rubber and chemical plants contracted cancer that the school was nicknamed "Leukemia High."

The danger to our children isn't just in the outside world, though. The Shabecoffs provide evidence that our homes are now infested with everything from dangerous flame retardants in crib mattresses to harmful plastic softeners in teething rings to antibiotics and arsenic in chicken-additives that are absorbed by growing and physically vulnerable kids as well as by pregnant women. Compounding the problem are chemical corporations that sabotage investigations and regulations, a government that refuses to police these companies, and corporate-hired scientists who keep pertinent secrets massaged with skewed data of their own.

Poisoned Profits also demonstrates how people are fighting back, whether through grassroots parents' groups putting pressure on politicians, the rise of "ecotheology" in the pulpits of formerly indifferent churches, or the new “green chemistry” being practiced in labs to replace bad elements with good. The Shabecoffs also include helpful tips on reducing risks to children in how they eat and play, and in how parents clean and maintain their homes.

Powerful, unflinching, and eminently readable, Poisoned Profits is a wake-up call that is bound to inspire talk and force change.


From the Hardcover edition.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Poisoned Profits ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
450 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.