The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Fadhil al-Azzawi

The Last of the Angels: A Modern Iraqi Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Free Press
Publication date: July 2008
ISBN: 9781416570301
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$14.56
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!

From a legendary writer both beloved and banished by Iraq -- a fine work of Arabic literature in the vein of Naguib Mahfouz and Elias Khoury, and a magical and moving comic novel about the birth of modern Iraq. Kirkuk, Iraq, the 1950s. The day Hameed Nylon loses his job, and gains an unfortunate nickname, is the day that his life begins: dismissed as a chauffeur when rumors surface that he propositioned his British boss's posh-tart wife, Hameed finds his true calling as a revolutionary in an Iraq that is destined for a sea change. Also bent on bucking the system is Hameed's brother-in-law, the money-scheming butcher Khidir Musa, who runs off suddenly to Russia to find two brothers who have been missing since World War I. And the key to their fate is held by a seven-year-old boy, Burhan Abdallah, who stumbles upon an old chest in his attic that allows him to speak with three white-robed old men, beings who inform him that they are, in fact, angels.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Last of the Angels ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
326 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Enabled and unlimited.
Printing:
Enabled and unlimited.