The Mourning Sexton: A Novel of Suspense ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Michael Baron

The Mourning Sexton: A Novel of Suspense

Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: April 2005
ISBN: 9780385515191
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$13.99
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
In this deft, multilayered thriller, a disgraced lawyer trying to revive his tattered career stumbles across a hidden case of cold-blooded murder and discovers that he must pursue justice even though doing so might just cost him what little he has left-possibly even his life.

Attorney David Hirsch was the managing partner of one of St. Louis's most prestigious law firms, until he was convicted of embezzlement and sent to the federal penitentiary for seven years. He emerges from prison humbled and genuinely contrite, eager to patch things up with his estranged daughter and to build up a modest legal practice. In forging his life afresh, Hirsch has rediscovered his Judaism and has become part of the daily minyan, the group of ten men necessary to pray together, at the synagogue near his home. When an elderly man in the group asks for his help with a product liability case involving his daughter's death, Hirsch reluctantly takes it on-only to discover that the seemingly straightforward lawsuit conceals a cold-blooded murder.

With the help of Dulcie Lorenz, the altruistic, public-spirited attorney the dead woman worked for, Hirsch pursues the liability case while quietly amassing evidence against the highly placed person he suspects of murder. His attempt to bring his powerful adversary to justice draws Hirsch into a fierce, seesawing battle of wits-and ultimately to an act that expresses the true depth of his atonement.

A page-turner in the tradition of Scott Turow, The Mourning Sexton goes beyond the question of "who done it" to explore the more intriguing questions of why the crime was committed and what it reveals about human nature. Set against the richly textured backdrops of St. Louis's legal establishment and the city’s tight-knit Jewish community, and animated by a vivid cast of characters, it marks the debut of an extraordinary new talent.


From the Hardcover edition.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Mourning Sexton ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
406 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Michael Baron
An Anniversary Feast ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Michael Baron
An Anniversary Feast
Michael Baron
Story Plant, The, January 2014
ISBN: 9781611881608
Format: ePub
List Price: $1.99 Our price: $1.49
Recovery: A Gold Family Story ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Michael Baron
Recovery: A Gold Family Story
Michael Baron
Story Plant, The, November 2013
ISBN: 9781611880830
Format: ePub
List Price: $1.99 Our price: $1.49
Leaves ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Michael Baron
Leaves
Michael Baron
Story Plant, The, September 2012
ISBN: 9780984190546
Format: ePub
List Price: $7.99 Our price: $6.99
A Winter Discovery ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Baron
A Winter Discovery
Baron & Michael Baron
Story Plant, The, November 2011
ISBN: 9781611880274
Format: ePub, PDF
List Price: $1.99 Our price: $1.49