The Scientists: A Family Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Marco Roth

The Scientists: A Family Romance

Union Books
Publication date: October 2012
ISBN: 9781908526304
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$13.99
Our price:
$10.99

You save: $3.00 (21%)
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician – from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce a word like ‘De-oxy ribonucleic acid’ or recite a French poem – Marco Roth was able to share his parents’ New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s.What this family would not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it’s a story of how preciousness can slow us down when it comes to understanding our desires and other people’s. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Scientists: A Family Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
3733 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Marco Roth
The Scientists: A Family Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Marco Roth
The Scientists: A Family Romance
Marco Roth
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, September 2012
ISBN: 9780374210281
Format: ePub
List Price: $10.99 Our price: $9.99
Recently Viewed Products