Them: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Nathan McCall

Them: A Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Atria Books
Publication date: November 2007
ISBN: 9781416554417
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$11.66
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
The author of the bestselling memoir Makes Me Wanna Holler presents a profound debut novel -- in the tradition of Tom Wolfe's Bonfire of the Vanities and Zadie Smith's White Teeth -- that captures the dynamics of class and race in today's urban integrated communities. Nathan McCall's novel, Them, tells a compelling story set in a downtown Atlanta neighborhood known for its main street, Auburn Avenue, which once was regarded as the "richest Negro street in the world." The story centers around Barlowe Reed, a single, forty-something African American who rents a ramshackle house on Randolph Street, just a stone's throw from the historic birth home of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Barlowe, who works as a printer, otherwise passes the time reading and hanging out with other men at the corner store. He shares his home and loner existence with a streetwise, twentysomething nephew who is struggling to get his troubled life back on track. When Sean and Sandy Gilmore, a young white couple, move in next door, Barlowe and Sandy develop a reluctant, complex friendship as they hold probing -- often frustrating -- conversations over the backyard fence. Members of both households, and their neighbors as well, try to go about their business, tending to their homes and jobs. However, fear and suspicion build -- and clashes ensue -- with each passing day, as more and more new whites move in and make changes and once familiar people and places disappear. Using a blend of superbly developed characters in a story that captures the essence of this country's struggles with the unsettling realities of gentrification, McCall has produced a truly great American novel.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Them ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
351 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Enabled and unlimited.
Printing:
Enabled and unlimited.
Recently Viewed Products