This Is Your Captain Speaking: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jon Methven

This Is Your Captain Speaking: A Novel

Simon & Schuster
Publication date: June 2012
ISBN: 9781451642179
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$11.66
GET THIS EBOOK
FOR FREE!
Join our Facebook sweepstake, share and
get 10 likes. Winners
get notified in 24H!
What if a miraculous plane landing was no miracle? In the vein of Christopher Buckley and Gary Shteyngart, Jon Methven reimagines such an event as a PR stunt in this biting, hilarious satire on the culture of hero worship and celebrity.When flight AW2921 crashes into the Hudson River one Monday morning and all 162 passengers survive, the nation latches on to the feel-good story with glee. What they don’t know: stock in Air Wanderlust was plummeting, and a notorious PR Svengali staged the entire event as a last-ditch attempt at resurrection. The hero of the hour, Captain Hank Swagger-a man with extraordinary flaws but some small reservoir of strength—has spent months test-landing a simulator and rehearsing his lines for the inevitable morning show interviews. Disgraced TV news anchor Lucy Springer was “luckily” the only reporter on the downed plane, and first to capture the story. Normal Fulk, the real hero of the unfolding saga, wasn’t even supposed to be on board. A month ago, he’d faked his own death to escape a fanatical reality television producer and the consequences of his barely legal career as a celebrity semen trafficker. Normal is toting the coveted “John Lennon” with him on the flight-his last big score—but when the plane crashes he has to leave it behind or risk being identified and arrested. In the aftermath of the crash and the chaotic week that follows, Lucy, Normal, and Captain Hank Swagger are all about to discover what it means to be at the center of a miracle that is anything but. Sharp, funny, and refreshingly tongue-in-cheek, This Is Your Captain Speaking is a rollicking folktale for this media-saturated, celebrity-obsessed, and spectacle-oriented age.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
This Is Your Captain Speaking ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1514 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Enabled and unlimited.
Printing:
Enabled and unlimited.