download James Benjamin Blish eBooks
James Benjamin Blish eBooks
Epub and PDF format

James Benjamin Blish eBooks

James Blish was an American author born in New Jersey in 1921. He had an interest in science fiction from the time he was a teenager. He studied biology at Rutgers and Columbia University before serving in the Army during World War II. He worked in the pharmaceutical industry and for the Tobacco Institute.

As a writer, Blish’s first story was published in 1940. Among his early works were his 1950 novel, There Shall Be No Darkness, and his 1951 novel, The Warriors of Day. His books in The Haertel Scholium were published between 1959, when the story collection Galactic Cluster was published, and 1972, when Midsummer Century was published.

He was also well known for his Cities in Flight stories. Primarily published in Astounding Science Fiction, they were also published as novels between 1955 and 1962. They have also been published as an anthology volume.

Despite publishing regularly throughout the 1950s and 1960s, he would only become a full-time author in 1968, when he left his job at the Tobacco Institute and moved to England. At this time, he had begun the work he was best known for, a series of novels based on the Star Trek television series.

Before his death from lung cancer in 1975, Blish had received several Hugo Awards, including Best Novel in 1959 for A Case of Conscience. He was also nominated for multiple Nebula Awards. In 1977, the James Blish award for criticism was created, recognizing his role in science fiction literary criticism, which he had published under the pseudonym William Atheling, Jr.


eBooks found: 1
The Thing in the Attic ePub (Adobe DRM) download by James Benjamin Blish
The Thing in the Attic
James Benjamin Blish, September 2010
ISBN: 9782819946915
Format: ePub
Our price: $0.99