download Octavia E. Butler eBooks
Octavia E. Butler eBooks
Epub and PDF format

Octavia E. Butler eBooks

Octavia E. Butler was an award-winning American science fiction author. Born in Pasadena, California, in 1947, she began writing when she was a child and was drawn to science fiction from a young age.

Though she studied at several colleges and universities, Butler said she was most influenced by two non-academic writing workshops. During this time, she worked several menial jobs, and was known to wake up at 2 am each day to give herself time to write.

Butler’s published her first story in 1971, and would go on to publish many other stories, including a collection of short stories, as well as twelve novels. Her first novel, Patternmaster, was published in 1976. This was followed by four additional novels which made up the Patternist series.

These novels were followed by Lilith’s Brood, also known as the Xenogenesis trilogy. Two additional novels formed the Parable Series. She also wrote two standalone novels, 1979’s Kindred and 2005’s Fledgling.

Her writing often reflected social issues, such as race, gender, and sexuality. Many of her protagonists are black women, and several of her novels deal directly with the issue of slavery.

Butler’s writing was critically acclaimed, and she became the first science fiction writer to be granted a MacArthur Foundation Genius Grant. She died in 2006 outside of her Washington home, and in 2010 she was posthumously inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame.

eBooks found: 1
Fledgling PDF (Adobe DRM) download by Octavia E. Butler
Octavia E. Butler
Warner Adult, January 2007
ISBN: 9780446696166
Format: PDF
Our price: $9.99