A Bloodsmoor Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates

A Bloodsmoor Romance

Ecco
Publication date: October 2013
ISBN: 9780062269201
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$10.99

Finally returned to print, Joyce Carol Oates's lost classic: the satirical, often surreal, and beautifully plotted Gothic romance that follows the exploits of the audacious Zinn sisters, whose nineteenth-century pursuit of adventurous lives turns a lens on contemporary American culture

When their sister is plucked from the shores of the Bloodsmoor River by an eerie black-silk hot air balloon that sails in through a clear blue sky, the lives of the already extraordinary Zinn sisters are radically altered. The monstrous tragedy splinters the family, who must not only grapple with the mysterious and shameful loss of their sister and daughter but also seek their way forward in the dawn of a new era—one that includes time machines, the spirit world, and the quest for women's independence.

Breathlessly narrated in the Victorian style by an unnamed narrator who is herself shocked and disgusted by the Zinn sisters' sexuality, impulsivity, and rude rejection of the mores of the time, the novel is a delicious filigree of literary conventions, "a novel of manners" in the tradition of Austen, Dickens, and Alcott, which Oates turns on its head. Years ahead of its time, A Bloodsmoor Romance touches on murder and mayhem, ghosts and abductions, substance abuse and gender identity, women's suffrage, the American spiritualist movement, and sexual aberration, as the Zinn sisters come into contact with some of the nineteenth century's greatest characters, from Mark Twain to Oscar Wilde.

Pure Oates in its mordant wit, biting assessment of the American landscape, and virtuosic transformation of a literary genre we thought we knew, A Bloodsmoor Romance is a compelling, hilarious, and magical antiromance, a Little Women wickedly recast for the present day.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
A Bloodsmoor Romance ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1649 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Joyce Carol Oates
The Lost Landscape: A Writer's Coming of Age ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
The Lost Landscape: A Writer's Coming of Age
Joyce Carol Oates
Ecco, September 2015
ISBN: 9780062408679
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $10.99
Jack of Spades: A Tale of Suspense ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
Jack of Spades: A Tale of Suspense
Joyce Carol Oates
Mysterious Press, May 2015
ISBN: 9780802123947
Format: ePub
List Price: $15.00 Our price: $11.99
Fleur vénéneuse ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
Fleur vénéneuse
Joyce Carol Oates
Archipoche, April 2015
ISBN: 9782352877325
Format: ePub
Our price: $7.99
My Heart Laid Bare ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joyce Carol Oates
My Heart Laid Bare
Joyce Carol Oates
Ecco, April 2015
ISBN: 9780062269256
Format: ePub
List Price: $10.99 Our price: $9.99
Recently Viewed Products