Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Stark

Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival

Ecco
Publication date: March 2014
ISBN: 9780062218315
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$14.99

In the tradition of The Lost City of Z and Skeleton in the Zahara, Astoria is the thrilling, true-adventure tale of the 1810 Astor Expedition, an epic, now forgotten, three-year journey to forge an American empire on the Pacific Coast. Peter Stark offers a harrowing saga in which a band of explorers battled nature, starvation, and madness to establish the first American settlement in the Pacific Northwest and opened up what would become the Oregon trail, permanently altering the nation's landscape and its global standing.

Six years after Lewis and Clark's began their journey to the Pacific Northwest, two of the Eastern establishment's leading figures, John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson, turned their sights to founding a colony akin to Jamestown on the West Coast and transforming the nation into a Pacific trading power. Author and correspondent for Outside magazine Peter Stark recreates this pivotal moment in American history for the first time for modern readers, drawing on original source material to tell the amazing true story of the Astor Expedition.

Unfolding over the course of three years, from 1810 to 1813, Astoria is a tale of high adventure and incredible hardship in the wilderness and at sea. Of the more than one hundred-forty members of the two advance parties that reached the West Coast—one crossing the Rockies, the other rounding Cape Horn—nearly half perished by violence. Others went mad. Within one year, the expedition successfully established Fort Astoria, a trading post on the Columbia River. Though the colony would be short-lived, it opened provincial American eyes to the potential of the Western coast and its founders helped blaze the Oregon Trail.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Astoria: John Jacob Astor and Thomas Jefferson's Lost Pacific Empire: A Story of Wealth, Ambition, and Survival ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
4186 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Peter Stark
Journey to the Arctic: The True Story of the Disastrous 1871 Mission to the North Pole ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Euphemia Vale Blake
Journey to the Arctic: The True Story of the Disastrous 1871 Mission to the North Pole
Euphemia Vale Blake & Peter Stark
Skyhorse, July 2013
ISBN: 9781620875797
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $11.99
Last Breath: The Limits of Adventure ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Stark
Last Breath
Peter Stark
Random House Publishing Group, February 2002
ISBN: 9780345441515
Format: ePub
List Price: $5.99 Our price: $4.99