Before We Were Yours: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Lisa Wingate

Before We Were Yours: A Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publication date: June 2017
ISBN: 9780425284698
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$12.99
For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Advance praise for Before We Were Yours

“[A] fantastic novel . . . Wingate is a compelling storyteller, steeping her narrative with a forward momentum that keeps the reader . . . engaged and curious.”Publishers Weekly

“Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power. That Georgia Tann and her Memphis Tennessee Children’s Home Society could actually exist, unraveling the lives of countless children, stealing their pasts and changing their futures, will give you chills. But the real feat of this stirring novel is how deeply Wingate plunges us into the heart and mind of twelve-year-old river gypsy Rill Foss. Rill’s utterly singular voice will stay with you long after the last page is turned, as will Wingate’s courage to follow her anywhere. . . . Vivid and affecting.”—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

“A powerful tale of family, of sisters, of secrets kept and secrets shared. I absolutely loved this book. I’m still basking in the afterglow, in shock at the true-crime elements, in awe at the journey of these characters who seem to have immortal souls.”—Jamie Ford, New York Times bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

“An unforgettable read . . . This captivating novel will quite likely break your heart, but because it’s Lisa Wingate at the helm, you will not be left broken. She is a master storyteller and never fails to get to the heart of what makes us hold on to hope.”—Susan Meissner, author of Secrets of a Charmed Life

“Lisa Wingate’s heart-racing tale of a family ripped apart by the Tennessee Children’s Home Society scandal rang so true I couldn’t sleep until I knew their fate.”—Julie Kibler, author of Calling Me Home
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Before We Were Yours: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1373 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Lisa Wingate
Sisters ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Lisa Wingate
Sisters
Lisa Wingate
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., April 2016
ISBN: 9781496413413
Format: ePub
Our price: $3.99
The Sea Keeper's Daughters ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Lisa Wingate
The Sea Keeper's Daughters
Lisa Wingate
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., September 2015
ISBN: 9781414386904
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $11.99
The Sandcastle Sister ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Lisa Wingate
The Sandcastle Sister
Lisa Wingate
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., May 2015
ISBN: 9781496407634
Format: ePub
List Price: $3.49 Our price: $2.99
The Story Keeper ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Lisa Wingate
The Story Keeper
Lisa Wingate
Tyndale House Publishers, Inc., September 2014
ISBN: 9781414386898
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $11.99
Recently Viewed Products