Charlatan ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Catherine Jinks

Charlatan

RHA eBooks Adult
Publication date: July 2017
ISBN: 9780143785552
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$21.99
Thomas Guthrie Carr is charged by Eliza Gray with mesmerising her and raping her while she was under his influence. But if mesmerism and Mr Carr are shams, was Eliza raped?

In the tradition of The Suspicions of Mr Whicher, Charlatan is the story of a notorious nineteenth-century court case involving a larger-than-life character. With a driving narrative and novelistic pacing, this scrupulously researched account of the life of Thomas Guthrie Carr, stage mesmerist - who lied, fought and sleazed his way around Australia and New Zealand between 1865 and 1886 - is more than just a fascinating piece of social history. It's also a mystery, a piece of true crime, and a delicately humorous portrait of a man whose eye for the main chance and ferocious pursuit of publicity made him an oddly contemporary figure.

With a star-studded supporting cast, including the Duke of Edinburgh, the Mad Dentist of Wynyard, the Nunawading Messiah, and a host of shady mesmerists, spiritualists, phrenologists and hired goons, Charlatan delves deep into a side of colonial history not often explored, and unearths a Victorian celebrity who should never have been forgotten .
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Charlatan ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
778 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Catherine Jinks
Theophilus Grey and the Traitor's Mask ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Catherine Jinks
Theophilus Grey and the Traitor's Mask
Catherine Jinks
Allen & Unwin, March 2016
ISBN: 9781760113612
Format: ePub
List Price: $12.72 Our price: $10.99
The Last Bogler ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Catherine Jinks
The Last Bogler
Catherine Jinks
HMH Books for Young Readers, January 2016
ISBN: 9780544086968
Format: ePub, PDF
List Price: $7.99 Our price: $6.99
Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Catherine Jinks
Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief
Catherine Jinks
Allen & Unwin, October 2015
ISBN: 9781760113605
Format: ePub
List Price: $12.08 Our price: $9.99
A Plague of Bogles ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Catherine Jinks
A Plague of Bogles
Catherine Jinks
HMH Books for Young Readers, January 2015
ISBN: 9780544087477
Format: ePub
List Price: $6.99 Our price: $5.99
Recently Viewed Products