How Soon is Now?: The Madmen and Mavericks who made Independent Music 1975-2005 ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Richard King

How Soon is Now?: The Madmen and Mavericks who made Independent Music 1975-2005

Faber & Faber Rock Music
Publication date: April 2012
ISBN: 9780571278329
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$22.99
Our price:
$20.99

You save: $2.00 (9%)
One of the most tangible aftershocks of Punk was its urgency to prompt individuals into action. Document your reality: do it yourself. From this, a generation of young men were inspired and, with often zero financial planning or business sense, in a bedroom, garage or shed, labels such as Factory, Rough Trade, Mute, 4AD, Beggars Banquet, Warp, Domino and Creation began, shifting the musical landscape and trading on an ethos and identity no brand consultant would now dare dream of. Musicians were encouraged to do whatever the hell they wanted and damn the consequences. From humble beginnings, some of our most influential artists were allowed to thrive: New Order, The Smiths, Depeche Mode, Orange Juice, Cocteau Twins, Sonic Youth, Happy Mondays, Primal Scream, Aphex Twin, Teenage Fanclub, My Bloody Valentine, Autechre, Broadcast, Vampire Weekend, The White Stripes and Artic Monkeys to name but a handful. This is the story, set to an incredible soundtrack, of the enormous scale of the passions, the size of the egos, and the true extent of the madness of the mavericks who had the vision and bloody-mindedness to make the musical landscape exciting again.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
How Soon is Now?: The Madmen and Mavericks who made Independent Music 1975-2005 ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
3039 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Richard King
Religion, Theory, Critique: Classic and Contemporary Approaches and Methodologies ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Richard King
Religion, Theory, Critique: Classic and Contemporary Approaches and Methodologies
Richard King
Columbia University Press, July 2017
ISBN: 9780231145435
Format: ePub
List Price: $59.99 Our price: $55.99
The Book Review of Death: A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Richard King
The Book Review of Death: A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie
Richard King
Zaffre, March 2017
ISBN: 9781785761461
Format: ePub
List Price: $3.49 Our price: $2.99
Recording Orchestra and Other Classical Music Ensembles ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Richard King
Recording Orchestra and Other Classical Music Ensembles
Richard King
Focal Press, December 2016
ISBN: 9781138854543
Format: ePub, PDF
List Price: $59.95 Our price: $55.99
A Brush with Death: A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Richard King
A Brush with Death: A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie
Richard King
Zaffre, September 2016
ISBN: 9781785761805
Format: ePub
List Price: $3.49 Our price: $2.99