Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Sean Naylor

Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda

Penguin
Publication date: June 2006
ISBN: 9780141929460
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$11.99

If you loved American Sniper you will love Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda. Award-winning journalist Sean Naylor, an eyewitness to the action, vividly portrays the fight for Afghanistan's most hostile battleground.
At dawn on March 2, 2002, the first major battle of the 21st Century began. Over 200 soldiers of the 101st Airborne and 10th Mountain Divisions flew into Afghanistan's Shahikot valley - and into the mouth of a buzz-saw. They were about to pay a bloody price for strategic, higher-level miscalculations that underestimated the enemy's strength and willingness to fight.
After the attacks of September 11, 2001, Coalition forces quickly toppled the Taliban regime from the seat of government. But, believing the war to be all but over, the Pentagon and US Central Command refused to commit the forces required to achieve total victory in Afghanistan. Instead, they delegated responsibility for fighting the war's biggest battle to a tangle of untested units thrown together at the last moment.
Then the world watched as Anaconda seemed to unravel.
Denied the extra infantry, artillery and close air support with which they trained to go to war, the soldiers of this airborne assault fought for survival in brutal high-altitude combat. Backed up by a small, but crucial, team of special forces, they were all that stood between the Coalition and a military disaster.
Perfect for fans of Black Hawk Down, Zero Dark Thirty, Chris Ryan, and Andy McNab.
About the author:
Sean Naylor is a senior writer for the Army Times. He has covered the Afghan mujahideen's war against the Soviets, and American military operations in Somalia, Haiti, Bosnia, Afghanistan, and Iraq. Named one of the 22 "unsung" influential print reporters in Washington by American Journalism Review in May 2002, he earned the White House Correspondents' Association's prestigious Edgar A. Poe Award for his coverage of Operation Anaconda.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
5296 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Sean Naylor
Relentless Strike: The Secret History of Joint Special Operations Command ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Sean Naylor
Relentless Strike: The Secret History of Joint Special Operations Command
Sean Naylor
St. Martin's Press, September 2015
ISBN: 9781250014542
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $9.99
Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Sean Naylor
Not a Good Day to Die: The Untold Story of Operation Anaconda
Sean Naylor
Berkley, March 2005
ISBN: 9780425207871
Format: ePub
Our price: $13.99