Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker ePub (Adobe DRM) download by James McManus

Positively Fifth Street: Murderers, Cheetahs, and Binion's World Series of Poker

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: April 2007
ISBN: 9780374706203
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$9.99
Rough sex, black magic, murder, and the science—and eros—of gambling meet in the ultimate book about Las Vegas

James McManus was sent to Las Vegas by Harper’s to cover the World Series of Poker in 2000, especially the mushrooming progress of women in the $23 million event, and the murder of Ted Binion, the tournament’s prodigal host, purportedly done in by a stripper and her boyfriend with a technique so outré it took a Manhattan pathologist to identify it. Whether a jury would convict the attractive young couple was another story altogether.

McManus risks his entire Harper’s advance in a long-shot attempt to play in the tournament himself. Only with actual table experience, he tells his skeptical wife, can he capture the hair-raising brand of poker that determines the world champion. The heart of the book is his deliciously suspenseful account of the tournament itself—the players, the hand-to-hand combat, and his own unlikely progress in it.

Written in the tradition of The Gambler and The Biggest Game in Town, Positively Fifth Street is a high-stakes adventure, a penetrating study of America’s card game, and a terrifying but often hilarious account of one man’s effort to understand what Edward O. Wilson has called “Pleistocene exigencies”—the eros and logistics of our primary competitive instincts.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Positively Fifth Street ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1982 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by James McManus
Going to the Sun: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by James McManus
Going to the Sun
James McManus
Picador, December 2015
ISBN: 9780312423292
Format: ePub
Our price: $7.99
The Education of a Poker Player ePub (Adobe DRM) download by James McManus
The Education of a Poker Player
James McManus
BOA Editions Ltd., October 2015
ISBN: 9781938160851
Format: ePub
List Price: $9.99 Our price: $7.99
Physical: An American Checkup ePub (Adobe DRM) download by James McManus
Physical
James McManus
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, December 2006
ISBN: 9780312426491
Format: ePub
List Price: $9.99 Our price: $7.99