Songs for the Butcher's Daughter: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Manseau

Songs for the Butcher's Daughter: A Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Free Press
Publication date: September 2008
ISBN: 9781416579731
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$11.99
Summer, sweltering, 1996. A book warehouse in western Massachusetts. A man at the beginning of his adult life -- and the end of his career rope -- becomes involved with a woman, a language, and a great lie that will define his future. Most auspiciously of all, he runs across Itsik Malpesh, a ninetysomething Russian immigrant who claims to be the last Yiddish poet in America. When a set of accounting ledgers in which Malpesh has written his memoirs surfaces -- twenty-two volumes brimming with adventure, drama, deception, passion, and wit -- the young man is compelled to translate them, telling Malpesh's story as his own life unfolds, and bringing together two paths that coincide in shocking and unexpected ways. Moving from revolutionary Russia to New York's Depression-era Lower East Side to millennium's-end Baltimore with drama, adventure, and boisterous, feisty charm to spare, the unpeeling of this friendship is a story of the entire twentieth century. For fans of Nicole Krauss, Nathan Englander, Richard Powers, Amy Bloom, and Lore Segal, this book will amaze at every turn: narrated by two poets (one who doesn't know he is and one who doesn't know he isn't), it is a wise and warm look at the constant surprises and ineluctable ravages of time. It's a book about religion, love, and typesetting -- how one passion can be used to goad and thwart the other -- and most of all, about how faith in the power of words can survive even the death of a language. A novel of faith lost and hope found in translation, Songs for the Butcher's Daughter is at once an immigrant's epic saga, a love story for the ages, a Yiddish-inflected laughing-through-tears tour of world history for Jews and Gentiles alike, and a testament to Manseau's ambitious genius.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Songs for the Butcher's Daughter ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
405 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Enabled and unlimited.
Printing:
Enabled and unlimited.
Other books by Peter Manseau
The Apparitionists: A Tale of Phantoms, Fraud, Photography, and the Man Who Captured Lincoln's Ghost ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Manseau
The Apparitionists: A Tale of Phantoms, Fraud, Photography, and the Man Who Captured Lincoln's Ghost
Peter Manseau
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, October 2017
ISBN: 9780544745971
Format: ePub, PDF
List Price: $27.00 Our price: $24.99
Melancholy Accidents: Three Centuries of Stray Bullets and Bad Luck ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Manseau
Melancholy Accidents: Three Centuries of Stray Bullets and Bad Luck
Peter Manseau
Melville House, March 2016
ISBN: 9781612195063
Format: ePub
Our price: $14.99
One Nation, Under Gods: A New American History ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Manseau
One Nation, Under Gods: The Hidden History of the Religious United States
Peter Manseau
Little, Brown and Company, January 2015
ISBN: 9780316242233
Format: ePub
List Price: $14.99 Our price: $11.99
Vows: The Story of a Priest, a Nun, and Their Son ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Peter Manseau
Vows
Peter Manseau
Free Press, October 2005
ISBN: 9780743249089
Format: ePub
List Price: $11.99 Our price: $10.99