Swish: A Quest ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Joel Derfner

Swish: A Quest

Argo-Navis
Publication date: October 2013
ISBN: 9780786755646
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$5.99
Our price:
$4.99

You save: $1.00 (17%)
A hilarious and deeply moving account of one man's journey from stereotype to truth.Joel Derfner is a knitter, an aerobics instructor, a cheerleader, a go-go dancer, and a musical theater composer, but when he realizes one day that he's a walking gay cliché he embarks on a quest for deeper meaning. A very, very funny quest for deeper meaning. And whether he's confronting the demons of his past at a GLBT summer camp, using the Internet to "meet" men--many, many men--or going undercover to a conference of ex-gays, he discovers that what he's looking for--and sometimes even finds, hidden underneath the surface of everyday life--is his own identity. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs, yet with its own particular flair, Swish is a story told with not just wit but humor; not just candor but honesty; and not just compassion but humanity.Swish is the best book about being gay I've ever read. But it's not just about being gay; it's about being human.Elton JohnIn a culture where we disguise vulnerability with physical perfection and material success, Derfner skewers heartache with Wildean wit . . . [Derfner is] the next Noël Coward.Out.comDerfner’s writing is perfect. . . . He’s your best friend. He’s your brother. He is you.EDGE Los AngelesSometimes hilarious, sometimes poignant, always clever, and unpredictable.Philadelphia Gay News
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Swish: A Quest ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
638 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Recently Viewed Products