The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football ePub (Adobe DRM) download by John J. Miller

The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football

HarperCollins e-books
Publication date: April 2011
ISBN: 9780062078995
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$14.99

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football—a game that would become the nation’s most popular sport. Miller’s sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt’s championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley’s Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis’s The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden’s The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller’s The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation’s history.

Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Big Scrum: How Teddy Roosevelt Saved Football ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1788 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by John J. Miller
Our Oldest Enemy: A History of America's Disastrous Relationship with France ePub (Adobe DRM) download by John J. Miller
Our Oldest Enemy
John J. Miller & Mark Molesky
Crown Publishing Group, December 2007
ISBN: 9780767917551
Format: ePub
Our price: $13.99