The Descent ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jeff Long

The Descent

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Crown Publishing Group
Publication date: November 1999
ISBN: 9780609607022
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$8.99
Hell exists.

In Tibet, while guiding trekkers to a holy mountain, Ike Crockett discovers a bottomless cave. When his lover disappears, Ike pursues her into the depths of the earth....In a leper colony bordering the Kalahari Desert, a nun and linguist named Ali von Schade unearths evidence of a proto-human species and a deity called Older-than-Old....In Bosnia, Major Elias Branch crash-lands his gunship near a mass grave and is swarmed by pale cannibals terrified of light....

So begins mankind's realization that the underworld is a vast geological labyrinth riddling the continents and seabeds, one inhabited by brutish creatures who resemble the devils and gargoyles of legend. With all of Hell's precious resources and territories to be won, a global race ensues. Nations, armies, religions, and industries rush to colonize and exploit the subterranean frontier.

A scientific expedition is launched westward to explore beneath the Pacific Ocean floor, both to catalog the riches there and to learn how life could develop in the sunless abyss. Is there a natural explanation, as the scientists hope? Or is there a true supernatural basis? Are the "demons" part of our evolutionary family tree? Is their enigmatic leader merely a freak genius, or could he be the legendary Satan?

Fathom by fathom, Ike guides the expedition--and Ali--deeper into the deadly stone wilderness. In the dark underground, as humanity falls away from them, the scientists and mercenaries find themselves prey not only to the savage creatures, but to their own treachery, mutiny, and greed. Meanwhile, on the surface, a band of aged scholars scours archaeological digs, museums, artifacts, and rare texts for clues to Satan's existence. Is he lurking in wait for the expedition, or is he roaming the earth? Or is he dead? One thing is certain: Miles inside the earth, evil is very much alive.

In the tradition of Jules Verne and H. G. Wells, The Descent is an epic adventure through fantastic landscapes, among creatures for whom man is both god and meat. It is a horrifying mystery penetrating the realms of faith and reason, a raw and original questioning of the divine and the demonic. And finally, The Descent is the story of a man and woman who enter the maze of the underworld and find at its center the human heart.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Descent ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
2126 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Jeff Long
Année zéro ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jeff Long
Année zéro
Jeff Long
City Edition, September 2010
ISBN: 9782352884590
Format: ePub
Our price: $7.99
Deeper: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jeff Long
Deeper
Jeff Long
Atria Books, August 2007
ISBN: 9781451607512
Format: ePub
Our price: $15.99
The Wall: A Thriller ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jeff Long
The Wall
Jeff Long
Atria Books, January 2006
ISBN: 9781451613353
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99
The Reckoning ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jeff Long
The Reckoning
Jeff Long
Atria Books, July 2004
ISBN: 9781416514701
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99
Recently Viewed Products