The Ghost Shift: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by John Gapper

The Ghost Shift: A Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publication date: January 2015
ISBN: 9780345527943
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$12.99
Our price:
$2.99

You save: $10.00 (77%)
In the tradition of Gorky Park, John Gappers new thriller takes readers inside the secretive and dangerous world of modern China, as a young woman makes a haunting discovery—one that forces her to choose between duty to her government and a desperate desire to learn the truth about herself.

This wasn’t just a body in a field. The corpse’s shape was hers—same length, same curves. Then she knew, and everything else receded to nothingness. All she could see was a woman with the same nose, the same eyes, and the same face.

Her twin.

As an up-and-coming agent of the Commission for Discipline Inspection, Song Mei probes political corruption, not mysterious deaths. But that changes when she arrives on the scene of a grim police investigation and is confronted with a crime—and a victim—impossible to ignore. Despite strict orders and threats from superiors, Mei knows she can not turn away.

Breaking protocol, Mei undertakes a covert search for the truth about the mystery woman’s death—and life—by following in her footsteps from a factory plagued by worker suicides to a luxury hotel dealing in high-end escorts to an American home haunted by tragedy. But when Mei crosses paths with an ex–CIA operative on a shadowy mission of his own, her personal quest takes a jarring turn into political and industrial espionage that pits both agents against the highest ranks of communism and capitalism.

Praise for John Gapper’s A Fatal Debt

“Rarely does one read a first novel so self-assured, sharp, and compelling. It takes off like a rocket and doesn’t stop until its explosive conclusion.”—Joseph Finder, author of Suspicion

“An enlightening and grisly tale . . . tightly plotted and fast-paced.”—The New Yorker

“An ingenious thriller about the ruthless world of high finance.”The Washington Post

“A fast-paced book that should entertain finance aficionados and fans of detective fiction alike.”Fortune

“A neatly crafted and well-written thriller . . . an audacious, assured debut.”—David Ignatius, author of Bloodmoney

“[Gapper] knows when to put his foot on the narrative accelerator.”—Financial Times

“Intriguing . . . suspenseful . . . a web of deceit and betrayal.”Booklist


From the Hardcover edition.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Ghost Shift: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
3385 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by John Gapper
A Fatal Debt: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by John Gapper
A Fatal Debt
John Gapper
Random House Publishing Group, June 2012
ISBN: 9780345527899
Format: ePub
Our price: $7.99
All That Glitters: The Fall of Barings ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Nicholas Denton
All That Glitters: The Fall of Barings
Nicholas Denton & John Gapper
Portfolio, December 2011
ISBN: 9781101572757
Format: ePub
List Price: $5.99 Our price: $4.99
How To Be a Rogue Trader: A Penguin Special from Portfolio ePub (Adobe DRM) download by John Gapper
How To Be a Rogue Trader: A Penguin Special from Portfolio
John Gapper
Portfolio, December 2011
ISBN: 9781101570920
Format: ePub
Our price: $3.99
Recently Viewed Products