The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Randall Fitzgerald

The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health

Plume
Publication date: June 2006
ISBN: 9781101218938
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$6.99
Our price:
$4.99

You save: $2.00 (29%)
In a devastating exposé in the tradition of Silent Spring and Fast Food Nation, investigative journalist Randall Fitzgerald warns how thousands of man-made chemicals in our food, water, medicine, and environment are making humans the most polluted species on the planet. A century ago in 1906, when Congress enacted the Pure Food and Drug Act, Americans were promised ?better living through chemistry.? Fitzgerald provides overwhelming evidence to shatter this myth, and many others perpetrated by the chemical, pharmaceutical, and processed foods industries. In the face of this national health crisis, Fitzgerald also presents informed and practical suggestions for what we can do to turn the tide and live healthier lives. Consider this: ? The average American carries a ?body burden? of 700 synthetic chemicals ? Chemicals in tap water can cause reproductive abnormalities and hermaphroditic birth ? A 2005 study of lactating women in eighteen U.S. states found perchlorate (a toxic component of rocket fuel) in practically every mother?s breast milk
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Hundred-Year Lie: How to Protect Yourself from the Chemicals That Are Destroying Your Health ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
319 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.