The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia ePub (Adobe DRM) download by C. W. Gortner

The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publication date: February 2016
ISBN: 9780345533982
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

List price:
$12.99
Our price:
$10.99

You save: $2.00 (15%)
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, bestselling author C. W. Gortner effortlessly weaves history and drama in this captivating novel about one of the world’s most notorious families. Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias fascinated and terrorized fifteenth-century Renaissance Italy, and Lucrezia Borgia, beloved daughter of the pope, was at the center of the dynasty’s ambitions. Slandered as a heartless seductress who lured men to their doom, was she in fact the villainess of legend, or was she trapped in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and survival?

With the ascension of the Spaniard Rodrigo Borgia as Pope Alexander VI, a new era has dawned in Rome. Benefitting from their father’s elevation are the new pope’s illegitimate children—his rival sons, Cesare and Juan, and beautiful young daughter Lucrezia—each of whom assumes an exalted position in the papal court. Privileged and adored, Lucrezia yearns to escape her childhood and play a part in her family’s fortunes. But Rome is seductive and dangerous: Alliances shift at a moment’s notice as Italy’s ruling dynasties strive to keep rivals at bay. As Lucrezia’s father faces challenges from all sides, the threat of a French invasion forces him to marry her off to a powerful adversary. But when she discovers the brutal truth behind her alliance, Lucrezia is plunged into a perilous gambit that will require all her wits, cunning, and guile. Escaping her marriage offers the chance of happiness with a passionate prince of Naples, yet as scandalous accusations of murder and incest build against her, menacing those she loves, Lucrezia must risk everything to overcome the lethal fate imposed upon her by her Borgia blood.

Beautifully wrought, rich with fascinating historical detail, The Vatican Princess is the first novel to describe Lucrezia’s coming-of-age in her own voice. What results is a dramatic, vivid tale set in an era of savagery and unparalleled splendor, where enemies and allies can be one and the same, and where loyalty to family can ultimately be a curse.

Advance praise for The Vatican Princess

“A tale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias—one of history’s most dysfunctional ruling families—and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome’s darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing.”—Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of Sisi: Empress on Her Own

“Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail . . . The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life—I’m captivated by this knowledgeable author’s take on the controversial Borgias.”—Alison Weir, New York Times bestselling author of Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen

“A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, The Vatican Princess tells Lucrezia Borgia’s story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read.”—Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth I

“Here is a marvelously evocative portrait of a young woman caught in a bewildering web of jealousy, family rivalry, vengeance, and papal politics. This is historical fiction at its best, written by a master of the genre.”—Patricia Bracewell, author of Shadow on the Crown


From the Hardcover edition.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
The Vatican Princess: A Novel of Lucrezia Borgia ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
3066 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by C. W. Gortner
Marlene: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by C. W. Gortner
Marlene: A Novel
C. W. Gortner
William Morrow, May 2016
ISBN: 9780062406064
Format: ePub
Our price: $11.99
Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by C. W. Gortner
Mademoiselle Chanel: A Novel
C. W. Gortner
William Morrow, March 2015
ISBN: 9780062356406
Format: ePub
Our price: $12.99
The Tudor Vendetta: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by C. W. Gortner
The Tudor Vendetta
C. W. Gortner
St. Martin's Griffin, October 2014
ISBN: 9780312658588
Format: ePub
List Price: $9.99 Our price: $7.99
The Tudor Conspiracy: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by C. W. Gortner
The Tudor Conspiracy: A Novel
C. W. Gortner
St. Martin's Griffin, July 2013
ISBN: 9780312658496
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99