We Were Strangers Once ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Betsy Carter

We Were Strangers Once

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: September 2017
ISBN: 9781455571451
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$13.99
For readers of The Nightingale and Brooklyn, an exquisitely moving novel about friendship, love, and redemption in a circle of immigrants who flee Europe for 1930s-era New York City.

On the eve of World War II Egon Schneider--a gallant and successful Jewish doctor, son of two world-famous naturalists--escapes Germany to an uncertain future across the sea. Settling into the unfamiliar rhythms of upper Manhattan, he finds solace among a tight-knit group of fellow immigrants, tenacious men and women drawn together as much by their differences as by their memories of the world they left behind.

They each suffer degradations and triumphs large and small: Egon's terminally acerbic lifelong friend, bestselling author Meyer Leavitt, now wears a sandwich board on a New York street corner; Catrina Harty, the headstrong daughter of a dirt-poor Irish trolley driver, survives heartbreak and loss to forge an unlikely alliance; and Egon himself is forced to abandon his thriving medical practice to become the "Cheese Man" at a Washington Heights grocery. But their spirits remain unbroken, and when their little community is faced with an existential threat, these strangers rise up together in hopes of creating a permanent home. With her uncanny ability to create indelible characters in unforgettable circumstances, Betsy Carter has crafted a gorgeous novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever felt adrift and longed for home.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
We Were Strangers Once ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
2093 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Betsy Carter
The Puzzle King ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Betsy Carter
The Puzzle King
Betsy Carter
Algonquin Books, November 2010
ISBN: 9781616200169
Format: ePub
List Price: $13.95 Our price: $10.99
Swim to Me: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Betsy Carter
Swim to Me
Betsy Carter
Algonquin Books, August 2007
ISBN: 9781565124929
Format: ePub
List Price: $12.00 Our price: $9.99
The Orange Blossom Special ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Betsy Carter
The Orange Blossom Special
Betsy Carter
Algonquin Books, June 2005
ISBN: 9781565124493
Format: ePub
List Price: $18.50 Our price: $13.99
Recently Viewed Products