Woman in the Shadows: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jane Thynne

Woman in the Shadows: A Novel

eBookMall Preferred Publisher
Ballantine Books
Publication date: September 2016
ISBN: 9780553394412
Digital Book format: ePub (Adobe DRM)

Buy ePub

Our price:
$11.99
Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Jacqueline Winspear’s Journey to Munich, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treacherous Nazi society gathering intelligence—and discovering a deadly secret.

Berlin, 1937. Clara Vine’s star is on the rise. The British-born, half-German actress is about to take her first leading role in a movie produced by the Nazis’ official film studio. Even as she moves through the upper echelons of the Third Reich, Clara never stops acting. At cocktail parties hosted by Joseph and Magda Goebbels, she collects key information for Britain, risking her life for the cause. But soon it is another young woman’s life, and its abrupt end, that draws her attention. Clara knew Anna Hansen as a dancer and artist’s model in the heady days of the cabaret scene. But Anna left that all behind when she became engaged to an SS officer. Attending one of Hitler’s notorious Bride Schools, she was being groomed as the perfect Nazi wife. When she is found murdered on the school grounds, her death is hushed up, one casualty among many in the lead-up to war. But Clara cannot fathom why Anna’s death would be concealed. Was it simply an embarrassment to the regime, or did Anna know something that hastened her demise? Clara must tread carefully to unravel the truth—for the Gestapo is one step behind.

Previously published in the U.K. as The Winter Garden

Praise for Jane Thynne’s first Clara Vine novel, The Scent of Secrets

“A brilliant tale of spies and secrets, of intense psychological drama, of edgy climax and one extraordinary heroine.”—Beatriz Williams, New York Times bestselling author of A Hundred Summers

“A compelling story of love and betrayal in Hitler’s Berlin . . . Peppered with real-life characters, this series offers a fascinating glimpse of the extraordinary world of the Nazi wives.”—Daisy Goodwin, author of The American Heiress

“An alluring blend of thrills, suspense, historic detail, and seduction.”—Susan Elia MacNeal, author of the Maggie Hope series

“An extraordinary, absorbing read with an array of characters so real you’re there with them as war looms, and a pace that sweeps you from page to page. This is indeed a winner!”Charles Todd, author of Inspector Ian Rutledge Mysteries

Find your next book club pick, read special features, and more. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
Please sign in to review this product.
Devices:
Woman in the Shadows: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) can be read on any device that can open ePub (Adobe DRM) files.

File Size:
1349 Kb
Language:
ENG
Copy From Text:
Disabled.
Printing:
Disabled.
Other books by Jane Thynne
La guerre des fleurs ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jane Thynne
La guerre des fleurs
Jane Thynne
JC Lattès, February 2017
ISBN: 9782709659499
Format: ePub
List Price: $18.99 Our price: $17.99
The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jane Thynne
The Pursuit of Pearls: A Novel
Jane Thynne
Ballantine Books, May 2016
ISBN: 9780553393866
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99
Le jardin d'hiver ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jane Thynne
Le jardin d'hiver
Jane Thynne
JC Lattès, February 2016
ISBN: 9782709656108
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99
The Scent of Secrets: A Novel ePub (Adobe DRM) download by Jane Thynne
The Scent of Secrets: A Novel
Jane Thynne
Ballantine Books, September 2015
ISBN: 9780553393903
Format: ePub
Our price: $9.99
Recently Viewed Products